This black and white photograph of the cloisters at Cong Abbey was taken in September 2009. A cloister is a rectangular open space surrounded by covered walks with open arcades or arches on the inner side, running along the walls of monastic buildings and forming a quadrangle. The carved details of each of the arches of the cloisters at Cong Abbey are totally unique.

The Royal Augustinian Abbey of Cong, Co. Mayo, was founded by St Feichin in the early 7th century and was destroyed by fire in the early 12th century. Its was refounded in 1135 by Turlough Mor O'Connor, one of Ireland's High Kings. His son, Rory O' Connor, last high King of Ireland died and was buried here in 1198. His remains were later moved to Clonmacnoise

William de Burgh, a Norman knight, attacked Cong in 1203 but again the abbey was rebuilt. Cong Abbey has served many purposes including a hiding place for the O'Connor family, a hospital for the sick, a shelter for the destitute as well as being a place of learning for countless scholars.

(also see alternative photograph of Cloisters at Cong Abbey)

 

Purchase Photograph



 
© Ciaran McHugh Photography 2009-2017, by Sea Design