This photograph of the cloisters at Cong Abbey was taken in September 2009. A cloister is described a rectangular open space surrounded by covered walks with open arcades or arches on the inner side, running along the walls of monastic buildings and forming a quadrangle. The carved details of each of the arches of the cloisters at Cong Abbey are totally unique.

The Royal Augustinian Abbey of Cong, Co. Mayo, was founded by St Feichin in the early 7th century and was destroyed by fire in the 12th century. Its was refounded in 1135 by one of Ireland's High Kings,Turlough Mor O'Connor. His son, Rory O' Connor, last high King of Ireland died here and was buried in 1198.

William de Burgh, a Norman knight, attacked Cong in 1203 but again the abbey was rebuilt. Cong Abbey has served many purposes over the years, including a hiding place for the O'Connors, a hospital for the sick, a shelter for the destitute as well as being a place of learning for countless scholars.

(also see alternative photograph of Cloisters at Cong Abbey)


Purchase Photograph

© Ciaran McHugh Photography 2009-2017, by Sea Design